The Last Tuesday in June

Can it already be the last Tuesday in June? June began as the school year ended, complete with a long list of to-dos as report cards were printed, cum folders organized and I finished packing things up, shutting the door to my classroom on the 9th.

I did have time to venture out since the final bell rang. I’ve been to Milwaukee twice, once for lunch and a lakefront walk; again for a Brewers game. I’ve been to Chicago twice too, once for a Cubs game and again for a Saturday of exploring a book fair, the Shedd, and River North. I’ve also been to St. Louis first to look at condos with my daughter and to see a Cardinals game on teacher’s night; then again as we headed to a family reunion in the Lake of the Ozarks.

Now I’m home again, still waking up early. Is it the sun shining in so early, or is it the schedule my body is accustom to? I’ve had time to read and drink coffee at a leisurely pace. Our backyard is filled with action as birds fly to and fro, frogs sing from the pond, and squirrels perform acrobatic feats as they maneuver to retrieve food set out for the birds. I enjoy watching all of them now that I have more time. Time to slow down and savor the simple things we often take for granite as we check our watches and calendars, checking off our lists.

I do need to start my own lists again, I have tasks to finish and projects to complete. There are boxes to unpack and sort in the basement, a study to organize, closets to  declutter, donations to make, yardwork to complete, birds to be fed. Somehow June seems to hold a promise that there is still a lot of time for those list items in July. June whispers: put up your feet, take your time, enjoy the moments, you have time, July is just around the corner. So here it is, the last Tuesday in June, July is only four days away. I have lots of time to accomplish my summer tasks, right?

One thought on “The Last Tuesday in June

Leave a Reply

