#SOL A Marigold for my garden on a snowy day

It’s Pi day (3.14), it’s also a snowy day. The roads were slippery and the commute took longer than usual. By now there is the promise of spring, warmer temperaturesGinny, more sun, longer days. Well, at least we have the longer days. The weather, like life is unpredictable. You never know for sure what will come your way. You hope, dream and wish, however in the end you just need to wait and see.

Today I’m writing about a new marigold in my professional garden. I met her in August as she began her journey as our school’s principal. From the start she showed all the qualities one would hope for in a principal. She listens. She works hard. Kids come first. She’s willing to allow us to try new ideas. She has snacks just incase.  She’s available. Most importantly she truly cares about her staff. She has taken time to get know everyone and brought us together. (She’s also humble.) Thanks to her there are more smiles in the hallway. Kids love seeing her, waving and greeting her as she walks down the hall. She’s the perfect principal for my final year in fifth grade here.

Having been in education for more than 30 years, I experience all kinds of “administrative weather.” At least sixteen principals have lead schools where I’ve taught. I’ve experienced many leadership styles. My new principal is right there at the top of my list of what I’d hoped and wished for in a leader. So, although today is snowy and spring seems to be forgotten, it’s sunny here thanks to our amazing leader. How lucky I am to conclude my career here with her at the helm. Thank you Ginny!

Oh, thanks also for allowing us to help our students learn like a pirate. I may be sailing on, but our “ship” is in very capable hands.Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 7.26.53 AM

 

 

2 thoughts on “#SOL A Marigold for my garden on a snowy day

  1. Mindi Rench says:

    Yay for Ginny! When I made the decision to return to the classroom, I was really doubting whether or not I still had “it” as a teacher and whether or not third grade would be a good fit for me. Ginny listened, gave me constructive, good feedback, and also told me what I was doing RIGHT. She helped restore my confidence in myself as a teacher.

    Definitely a marigold for me, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

