First Impressions

solI’ve been in my classroom a lot recently as I unpack items that were put away in June. There is always so much to do to get ready for opening day, my list seems to stretch on and on. My room appears to have exploded as items are set out and moved. Getting everything in place before “Meet the Teacher” is important. I want everyone to have a good first impression.

I stayed late Monday finishing up a few more things.Generally I wear comfortable clothes since it’s a lot of physical work. I had a country music station playing in the background, keeping me company. Just after 5:00 our superintendent walked in with our new principal. (She was just appointed by the school board on Friday and officially won’t start until Wednesday.) They were dressed nicely, I was very casual and perhaps a bit dusty.

There I was meeting our new school leader for the first time as country music played in the background. Our superintendent said “I learned something new about you today – you like country music.” Yes, country music, tee shirt and shorts, no makeup and my hair wasn’t styled. It wasn’t the first impression I would have hoped for, but I’m glad I had a chance to meet her.

We can’t always be sure of who will stop in as we strive to organize our classrooms. We need to be ready for the unexpected. Hopefully those unexpected visitors will appreciate our efforts and not remember the tee shirt and shorts or the music.

My room is getting close to being finished, at least as finished as it can be before my students arrive. I hope they feel the love and care I put into it anticipating their arrival. There is always more to do, but soon I’ll step away to savor a bit more summer before the doors open on the 22nd. sol

2 thoughts on “First Impressions

  1. Lisa Keeler says:

    I imagine the first impression was a good one- there you were, working hard, but also enjoying your time with music. I bet your principal was nothing but impressed. Good luck with the start of your school year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

